ECSS Awards 2015

The list of ECSS awardees together with their contributions – for best poster, best oral presentation and best student contribution – is now available here.

The awards were presented during the closing ceremony of the ECSS on the 18th of September 2015:

20150918-IMG_4309 small

Nikolai Dotzek Award 2015

Dr. Harold E. Brooks receives the 3rd Nikolai Dotzek Award.

At the occasion of the 8th European Conference on Severe Storms that was held in Wiener Neustadt, Austria, Dr. Harold E. Brooks (National Severe Storms Laboratory, Norman, Oklahoma, USA) has been awarded the 3rd Nikolai Dotzek Award.

The Nikolai Dotzek Award was established in 2011 in the memory of ESSL’s first director and founding father, Dr. Nikolai Dotzek, who passed away in May 2010.

Dr. Brooks has been given the award for his innumerable and diverse contributions to the science of severe storms, which among many other accomplishments, include

  • his pioneering work in developing and applying proxy parameters to assess the climatology and risk of severe storms, both regionally and globally.
  • his contributions in establishing the connection between vertical wind shear in the lower troposphere and the occurrence of tornadoes.
  • his extensive work and significant progress on verification methods for forecasts of extreme events.

In addition, Dr. Brooks was commended for his support to the European and international communities of severe storm researchers that has resulted in many fruitful collaborations.


A list of all Nikolai Dotzek Awardees is available here.

Heino Tooming Award 2015

At the ECSS in Wiener Neustadt, Austria, the Heino Tooming Award 2015 was presented to 

Alexander Keul, Bernhard Brunner, Melanie Korff, Sanjay Sharma, Partha Roy, John Allen, Katie A. Bowden, Mat Said Aini, Abu Bakar Elistina, Mohd Zainal Abidin Ab Kadir, Chandima Gomes and Mateusz Taszarek

for their work entitled

“Severe weather and psychology – Analysis of international survey data”, presented by Dr. Alexander Keul. 


Photo: Thomas Schreiner, ESSL

The full list of Heino Tooming Awardees is available here.

ECSS over, next in Croatia

The ECSS in Wiener Neustadt by its participants offered an outstanding scientific programme. Scientists from all over the world, as far as from New Zealand, Japan, Korea, Argentina, Brazil and the USA exchanged knowledge with their European colleagues.

The next European Conference on Severe Storms will be held from 18 to 22 September 2017 in Pula, Croatia, in cooperation with the local organizing partner DHMZ.