Nikolai Dotzek Award

The Nikolai Dotzek Award is the most prestigious award in the global severe weather research community.

The award is presented at each European Conference on Severe Storms, starting in 2011, **for an outstanding contribution to the science of severe storms**. The award may be given for a breakthrough discovery presented at the conference, for an accumulation of important accomplishments during a scientific career, or as an encouragement to an outstanding young scientist with great potential. The award may also be given for a combination of these factors.

The list of awardees:

2011 Dr. Paul M. Markowski, Pennsylvania

State
University
State College,
USA

At the 6th European Conference on Severe Storms in Palma de Mallorca, Dr. Paul Markowski was awarded the first Nikolai Dotzek Award by the ESSL Executive Board for his recent pioneering research in the field of numerical modelling tornado genesis.



Contgratulations to the Nikolai Dotzek Award winner (in the middle with the trophy in hands), photo © Magdalena Pichler

Dr. Charles A.
Doswell III,
Norman,
Oklahoma.

USA

At the 7th European Conference on Severe Storms in Helsinki, Dr. Charles A. Doswell III was awarded the second Nikolai Dotzek Award by the ESSL Executive Board for his lifetime achievement, such as

- studying how to use observed meteorological data such as surface observations and radiosonde data in forecasting operations
- investigating the role of humans in forecasting
- examining public awareness of severe weather events
- using climatological records to put severe weather outbreaks in historical perspective, while pointing out the limitations of such records
- stimulating the European meteorological community to take forecasting and studying convective storms seriously and especially,
- demonstrating that forecasting severe convective hazards is best done by focusing on ingredients, in the absence of which storms cannot form.



Dr. Charles A. Doswell III (Nikolai Dotzek Award winner), Dr. Pieter Groenemeijer (ESSL Director) and Dr. Kathrin Riemann-Campe (ESSL Deputy Director), photo © Pauli Jokinen

2015 Dr. Harold E. Brooks, USA At the 8th European Conference on Severe Storms in Helsinki, Dr. Harold Edward Brooks was awarded the third Nikolai Dotzek Award by the ESSL Executive Board. Dr. Brooks has been given the award for his innumerable and diverse contributions to the science of severe storms, which among many other accomplishments, include

- his pioneering work in developing and applying proxy parameters to assess the climatology and risk of severe storms, both regional and global.
- his contributions in establishing the connection between vertical wind shear in the lower troposphere and the occurrence of tornadoes.
- his extensive work and significant progress on verification methods for forecasts of extreme events.

In addition, Dr. Brooks was commended for his support to the European and international communities of severe storm researchers that has resulted in many fruitful collaborations.



Dr. Harold E. Brooks (Nikolai Dotzek Award winner 2015), Dr. Pieter Groenemeijer (ESSL Director) and Alois M. Holzer (ESSL Director of Operations) from left to right, at the ECSS awarding ceremony in Wiener Neustadt, Austria, photo © Thomas Schreiner.

Dr. Brooks is affiliated with the NSSL in Norman, Oklahoma.

The Nikolai Dotzek award was instigated in 2011 in the memory of ESSL's first director and founding father, Dr. Nikolai Dotzek, who passed away in May 2010. He was a binding factor within the European community of severe storms scientists well before ESSL's foundation in 2006, and is remembered for his innumerable efforts to promote European collaboration in the field. His ultimate aim was to increase the understanding of severe storms and tornadoes, to assess the risk they pose, and to create awareness for their existence and thus increase society's resilience to them.





Dr. Nikolai Dotzek and the trophy

The Nikolai Dotzek Award is a trophy that represents a massive hailstone, which is made out of artificial resin, and a certificate. Besides this, the winner will receive 1000 Euro and a fee waiver for the next European Conference on Severe Storms.